top of page

History of TQ Racing in Auckland

Three Quarter Midget (TQs) are pocket rockets on four wheels and provide some of the closest wheel to wheel action you'll see anywhere.


The first TQ was built by Johnny Missen in 1950, he was also responsible for starting the TQ class at Western Springs in 1951. Below is a picture of the first official meeting for the TQ class on 6 Mar 1951.


The first New Zealand Championship was held the following season and the rest is history.


The TQ Midget class has been used by many drivers as a stepping stone to the higher horsepower classes such as Midgets and Sprintcars.

Some past Auckland TQ drivers include:

Brad Mosen

Daniel Eggleton

Jamie McDonald

Ryan O’Conner - 1NZ 2006-2007

Shane O’Conner - 1NZ 2008-2009

Shane Van Gisbergen

Zahn Turner

Hayden Williams - 2NZ 2008-2009

Graham Standring - 1NZ 1985-1986

Chris McCutcheon

Carl Wilson - 2NZ 1997-1998

Brock Maskovich - 3NZ 2008-2009

Bryce Townsend - 1NZ 1998-1999 & 1999-2000

Kevin Hyde - 3NZ 1988-1989

Current TQ Specifications:

Length 2794mm including bumpers
Width 1425mm approx.

Minimum weight: 260 kg - without driver

Most cars run 2005 Suzuki GSXR 750 Watercooled EFI Engines - All parts to remain standard

Other Engine Options:
4 Stroke Motorcycle derived engine mounted in front of car

  • Kawasaki or Yamaha air cooled 917cc - 2 valves per cylinder

  • Suzuki GSXR Air cooled 771cc - 4 valves per cylinder

bottom of page